Maryland Loyalists, 1699

22 July 1699

An Association to defend His Majesty's most sacred person and Government against the late King James and all his adherents.

N. Blakiston

Henry Jowles

Thomas Tench

John Addison, Judge of the Prerogative Court

John Courts

Thomas Brooke, Judge of the Prerogative Court

James Frisby

John Hammond

Thomas Tasker

Charles Hutchins

Robert Smith

Francis Jenkins

William Dent, Attorney-General

W. Bladen, Clerk of the Council

Thomas Lawrence, Secretary

Thomas Smithson, Speaker of the House of Delegates

Thomas Waughop

William Taylard

John Lowe

Jacob Moreland

Thomas Bale

Abraham Miller

Thomas Smith

John Whittingham

Symon Willmer

Richard Hill

Samuel Young

James Sanders

John Worthington

James Cranford

Walter Smith

Elisha Hall

James Smallwood, Sr.

Philip Hoskins

Benjamin Hall

Philip Briscoe

John Hall

Thomas Staley

George Ashmans

James Philips

Edward Lloyd

Richard Tilghman

William Harris

John Thompson

Hans Hanson

John Carvile

William Hutchison

Ninnian Beale

Thomas Greenfield

Thomas Ennalls

Thomas Hicks

Jacob Lockerman

Walter Campbell

John Leach, Jr.

Samuel Collins

Walter Lane

William Whittington

John Boremane

Chr. Gregory, Clerk of the House of Delegates

Headlam, Cecil, ed., Calender of State Papers, Colonial Series (Volume 17), America and West Indies, 1699. Also Addenda, 1621-1698, Preserved in the Public Record Office (Vaduz: Kraus Reprint Ltd., 1964) First Published London: HMSO, 1908. pp. 393-394.

More information about colonial Maryland can be found in the book:

Colonial Chesapeake Society


Maryland Loyalists in the American Revolution



Genealogy Quest is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to,, or